North Carolina's Year of the Trail | 2023

Year of the Trail will be an opportunity for North Carolina to showcase, promote, and celebrate our trails. Throughout the year 2023, there will be special trail programs and events in each of our 100 counties, with a goal to increase awareness and educate the public about trails, and boost local trail use and tourism.

Additionally, the “Year of the Trail” will be used to showcase the vital role of volunteers in building and maintaining much of our natural trail networks from trails in local parks to statewide trails.







Why 2023?

2023 marks the 50th anniversary of the 1973 North Carolina Trails System Act. The NC Trails System Act created North Carolina’s Trails Program which is housed in the Division of Parks and Recreation and is assisted by the North Carolina Trails Committee, a group of citizens appointed to represent users of different types of trails, including hiking, biking, paddling, horseback riding and off road vehicles.

Thank the legislators who supported this designation:

Send a thank you email to the Representatives who sponsored this bill or to your legislator who voted to pass this legislation.

Introduced by: Representative Hugh Blackwell (R-Burke) 

Primary Sponsors: Representative Hugh Blackwell (R-Burke),  Representative Pat B. Hurley (R),Representative Larry C. Strickland (R), Representative Dean Arp (R)


Representative Allison A. Dahle (D)
Representative Ashton Wheeler Clemmons (D)
Representative Becky Carney (D)
Representative Brian Farkas (D)
Representative Carla D. Cunningham (D)
Representative Cecil Brockman (D)
Representative Cynthia Ball (D)
Representative Dean Arp (R)
Representative Deb Butler (D)
Representative Dennis Riddell (R)
Representative Donna McDowell White (R)
Representative Dudley Greene (R)
Representative Evelyn Terry (D)
Representative George G. Cleveland (R)
Representative Howard Penny, Jr. (R)
Representative Jay Adams (R)
Representative Joe John (D)
Representative John Ager (D)
Representative John Autry (D)
Representative John R. Bradford, III (R)
Representative Julie von Haefen (D)
Representative Karl E. Gillespie (R)
Representative Kristin Baker, M.D. (R)
Representative Kyle Hall (R)
Representative Larry C. Strickland (R)
Representative Lee Zachary (R)
Representative Marcia Morey (D)
Representative Mary Belk (D)
Representative Mike Clampitt (R)
Representative Nasif Majeed (D)
Representative Pat B. Hurley (R)
Representative Pricey Harrison (D)
Representative Rachel Hunt (D)
Representative Ricky Hurtado (D)
Representative Susan C. Fisher (D)
Representative Timothy D. Moffitt (R)
Representative Wesley Harris, PhD (D)
Representative Zack Hawkins (D)

“Year of the Trail will be a tremendous opportunity to highlight North Carolina’s exceptional network of trails, and educate the public and elected officials about their value to our residents and communities.”

Kate Dixon, Executive Director of Friends of the Mountains-to-Sea Trail

Help us celebrate trails in North Carolina in 2023, and together, let’s show why North Carolina is

The Great Trails State